The Code to Wealth, examining AshtaLakshmi

We all have a relationship with wealth, whether it is good, bad or neutral. It is our beliefs about what wealth which decide how we live our lives. We need money to feel secure. As a young employee that amount was twenty thousand rupees and now it is two hundred thousand rupees. Nothing much has shifted other than one “zero” and of course there are possessions, which bring a certain social status, and I would not downplay the importance of money. A certain social status and money has its own importance and brings in certain independence, even to those people who say it is not important. However, as many of us know, money is not the only important thing. Building relationships, contributing to social causes, being there for friends or family are other very important aspects of life too. I have been wondering about “wealth” and what it really means.

Curiosity about wealth took me to reading about AsthaLakshmi,

This is not a religious text and I do not consider myself to be religious, at the same time I am keen to bring out interesting facts and belief systems that were there in our ancient Indian society. This awareness is very relevant in today’s world and can create insights for a better life.

‘Lakshmi’ in Hindu mythology is the goddess of wealth. The name “Lakshmi”, could have different origins, Lakshyam, meaning Goal, Laksham, meaning Characteristic, Lakshya meaning Target and Laksh meaning sight or Vision. Eight forms of Lakshmi is about, how big your vision is? The Hindu mythology talks about wealth much more holistically and not just in money form. Ashta in Sankrit is for eight. Lakshmi is considered to be a Goddess, who gives generously, awareness and alignment with her eight different forms allows us to tap into her abundant resources.

Aadi-Lakshmi is the primeval Lakshmi. She was there before time, she connects us with our creation, our Spirit and to the esoteric unexplained wealth that existed before formation of civilizations and societies. Dhana-Lakshmi is the goddess of financial and material wealth. Dhanya-Lakshmi is the goddess of food and agriculture. Gaja-Lakshmi is the one born out of the ocean, she brought with her nature’s abundance and servitude. Santana-Lakshmi is for fertility, health and children. Then there is Veera-Lakshmi, a reservoir of courage and resilience in difficult times, Vijaya-Lakshmi gives strength and success towards Dharma. Finally there is Vidya- Lakshmi, goddess of knowledge, awareness and growth.


If we ask empowering questions about these eight forms of wealth and create that for ourselves, I am sure we can live a much more fulfilling life. These forms of wealth are not just impacting an individual but will help create a connected society and a much more wealthier and healthier world.

In today’s world we focus on only one form of Lakshmi, Dhan Lakshmi and berate the other forms, thus not caring for Nature, agricultural land, children, courage to break illusions, health, awareness and spirit. Also I wondered, that there is no mention of society or community in this, and suddenly I realized that , if all individuals are able to work on all eight forms of wealth for themselves they will be naturally creating a wholesome and dynamic community.

Leave a Comment

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s